Joint Defence Cooperation

The second edition of Joint Defence Cooperation Committee (JDCC) meeting between India and Tanzania was held in Arusha, Tanzania recently.

Key Point

  • The two sides discussed a wide range of opportunities for collaboration with a view to enhancing security in the Indian Ocean region.
  • A five-year roadmap for defence cooperation was also agreed tc between the two side which covers initiatives ranging from customised training and capacity building to maritime ooperation, infrastructure building and collaboration in defence equipment and technology


  • Tanzania officially the United Republic of Tanzania is a country in East Africa within the African Great Lakes region
  • It is about three times the size of italy or slightly larger than twice the size of California.
  • Tanzania is located east of Africa’s Great Lakes north of Mozambique and south of Kenya, it has a coastline at the Indian Ocean in east.
  • The nation is bordered by six other African countries: Burundi the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Malawi, Rwanda, Uganda, and Zambia, it also shares maritime borders with the Comoros and the Seychelles.
  • It has shorelines at three of the Great Lakes: Lake Victoria, Lake Tanganyika and Lake Nyassa (Lake Malawi).
  • Tanzania contains around 20% of the species of Africa’s enormous warm-blooded animal populace and has the largest lion population in the world.
  • Mount Kilimanjaro, once an active volcano, is the highest point in Africa and is bordered by three of the largest lakes on the continent: Lake Victoria (the world’s second-largest freshwater lake) in the north, Lake Tanganyika in the west, and Lake Nyasa in the southwest.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!
Open chat
Any Time Doubt
Exact IAS
Any Time Doubt